SQL Function for SX Enterprise??

Auriferous

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what the possibility of creating a function that would fire every time a new product is created in PUB.icsp that would create a note attached to the product. The idea is to insert a note with a URL such as "http://www.mydomain/eternaldb/product.cfm?prod=XXXX" with the X being the product sku. Any Ideas of how to accomplish this in progress / openedge 10?

Thanks,

Bryan

doom1701

I should note that I'm not a Progress developer, but I know enough to be dangerous. Seems like this might be better handled either with a database trigger of some sort, or just a quick and dirty to run on a regular basis looking for product records that don't have a note attached yet. I believe you could just look for any record with a icsp.notesfl of no.

ODBC could do this, but I'd recommend just doing it directly in Progress. It's quite simple, and considering the level of activity that the SXE portion of this forum sees (ie, none), it might give us SX users something to talk about. :)

Auriferous

Ya a db trigger probably would work the best. I'm not sure about how to go about this though and was reading that if things aren't done right it could overide existing database logic.

Also rather than use the note field I think I am going to use the "webpage" field in icsp and point it to a php script. It would still be nice to have the url automatically put in when the product is saved... and even better would be with a query string with the prod..
http://192.168.136.55/update/product.php?prod=mysku-101

I can add all the fields and logic I want this way using html and connecting via the built-in web browser in SX.