Performance issues

Blakey43

Hi,

This is my first post here and of course I'm looking for some free advice!

Our Progress 9.1E application is slow and frequently so slow as to be almost unusable.:mad:
About 40 users, coming from a mix of local installs and rdp. Also about 40 telnet users using Georgia telnet server on the same machine as the db. ODBC connections are used for a web site, and to connect to other apps on site.
The Dell 2950 server has W2K3 R2 SP2 standard, 4GB RAM, twin quad-core Xeon processors. Six 15k rpm sas disks in 3 RAID 1 arrays.
Its been in for about a year and we've been regularly trimming things off the server "to take the strain off".
I'm still new to progress but when it goes slow, its me they call. I'm coming to the conclusion that the server's not up to the job, but also am aware that upgrading hardware can just buy you time until the real problem grows to outstrip the new machine. The application providers are experienced progress developers.
Occasionally we get db crashes. Analysis of the server has shown its good for db reads, slow for writes.
Page faults are in the hundreds and in busy periods, average over a thousand per second.
Telnet requests are in the order of 500 per second, tcp retry transmissions are common, possibly because of the queued requests to the db. The machine is up to date with all the latest bios, firmware, drivers.
Would anyone like to say where to start? Is anything obviously bad/wrong in the hardware?
All replies welcome.
Thanks
S
:)

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Not to get religious or anything but if you're running telnet sessions why on Earth are you using a Windows server? Linux would be much more natural for that sort of thing...

Offhand the server sounds more than adequate for 40 users.

My guess is that even though you're dealing with "experienced developers" you are not dealing with experienced Progress performance experts. There is a world of difference between a developer and a DBA.