Rebuild of db

jozef

Hi there.

I'm kinda new in a dba role and having a look at what I've inherited I want to plan on doing a rebuild of our db's.

Progress 10.2A
Redhat Linux

A bit of background - we have number of db's on a number of servers on a WAN. These db's vary in size from 300mb upto 1.5gb. The larger are multi-volume while the smaller are single volume.

The previous dba did a straight convert from v9 to v10 and as a consequence, the db blocksize is still 1k with type I areas.

I want to go to type 2 and have a standard .st table across all db's. I've run a tabanalys and get mean record-size of around 200. I figure I chould do something like 'd "Data Area":10,64;512' and split the schema and index areas out on their own. With disk space not being an issue I was going to standardise with a 1gb fixed extent and then a variable.

After that I'm stumped. I'm wondering what size I should make the fixed bi extent (or even bother, just leave it as variable). Also wonder what RPB abd blocks/cluster I should make the Index & Schema areas.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jo

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Hi there.

I'm kinda new in a dba role and having a look at what I've inherited I want to plan on doing a rebuild of our db's.

Progress 10.2A
Redhat Linux

A bit of background - we have number of db's on a number of servers on a WAN. These db's vary in size from 300mb upto 1.5gb. The larger are multi-volume while the smaller are single volume.

If it is a version 10 database then it is multi-volume. I suspect that you are really saying that there is just one storage are. Or possibly that there is only one data extent currently defined.

The previous dba did a straight convert from v9 to v10 and as a consequence, the db blocksize is still 1k with type I areas.

Yuck.

I want to go to type 2

Excellent!