What books?

futurebird

Hello, I'm new to using progress and I'm looking for a good bok that will show me how to use it. I've worked with perl PHP and mySQL in the past. Now I'd like to creat a wbe interface for progress . Right now the databse is controlled by Associan Plus. Do any of you guys know about this.

Mostly just a good book would help me to figure out what step to take next-- any thoughts?

U

Unregistered

Good Luck. I've been asking Progress this question for the past several years. Everyone who knows Progress, knows they are horrible when it comes to any literature or books pertaining to development with Progress, or more specifically, developing web applications with webspeed.

Unlike the world of SQL, ASP, PHP, java, Coldfusion, Perl etc. Progress seems to want to make you go through your VAR, or spend $1000.00 or more on classes to learn just the basics of their applications. Thats why Progress is a literal "unknown" in the Western United States.

Their is one book I know of. Its blue and called The Progress source book I think. Honestly that is the only book that is available. Unfortunately its old and may not deal with Progress 9 or above. It doesnt deal with webspeed at all. Many Progress people will say, "Hey there are tons of progress manuals," but you and I both know thats not what we are looking for. By the way, This web site "is the only" website with any up to date info on Progress. Problem is its just a message board.

If you are using PHP I would suggest checking out Nusphere. Its actually another Progress company. They are just enhancing open source mySQL, charging a fee, and making it a robust environment for web app development. Of course, this in no way helps at all if the company you are working for is using a Progress database.

futurebird

thanks ... I guess

I just thought of something. Maybe what I need to do is as questions. These are vary basic... so don't get mad--

What is the extension for the file the DB is saved as?