[Progress News] [Progress OpenEdge ABL] Meet Filip Cerny, Product Marketing Manager at Progress

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jessica Kent

Today, we shine a spotlight on Filip Cerny, who has been recognized for “Dare to Innovate,” one of the ProgressPROUD core values we strive to embody every day.

Throughout his career in the tech industry, Filip Cerny has learned a lot about creativity and innovation. After working as a financial consultant, Filip made the jump to product marketing and hasn’t looked back. Filip and his team consistently find new ways to appeal to customers and partners, and new solutions for any challenges that may arise.

Learn more about Filip, his role at Progress and his professional basketball aspirations in the interview below.

How did you get into the tech field?​

I graduated with my bachelor’s degree from the Faculty of Economics in Brno. At that time, I still was not quite sure what I wanted to do with my life, but I knew I had a big mouth, so sales seemed like a good direction. I worked a bit as a financial consultant, and one of my friends who I managed a mortgage for told me to apply for a sales job at Flowmon.

Back in high school, I studied networking and completed a Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) certification, which covers fundamental networking concepts for IT roles. Back then I thought it was a waste of time, but it became quite useful when applying for the role. Funny how things come together in time.

I started working at Flowmon in 2015. As a young salesman, I saw potential in technology and wanted to travel the world and make a lot of money.

How do innovation and creativity factor into your day-to-day at Progress?​