[Progress News] [Progress OpenEdge ABL] After Three Weeks of Training, Michiel Herpers is Working as a Backend Developer in Progress OpenEdge

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jessica Malakian

Michiel chose to make a career change and threw himself into programming. After a crash-course in Progress OpenEdge, he found fun and meaningful work as a backend developer.

What Do You Do if You Don't Like Your Job After Your School Career?​

At age 30 Michiel Herpers knew how to answer that question. He threw himself into programming and started with Java, Python and other programming languages. After a crash course in Progress OpenEdge, he found fun and meaningful work as a backend developer.

“Becoming a scientist seemed cool. I studied biotechnology and then did laboratory work. In practice, the work turned out to be less interesting than I expected,” says Michiel. “Through that study I encountered bioinformatics. There, we learned a bit of programming, like Python, and realized I enjoyed programming more. I like to make my own products and prefer to be creative. In programming, you must come up with clever solutions to make something run well.”

Being able to have an impact is important to Michiel. “In the world of game development, there is more competition and fewer job opportunities. So, the chances of making a difference there are slim. I find it much more interesting to help ensure that, for example, at our national railroad, Nederlandse Spoorwegen, trains can run more on time.”

Michiel now works at IT and business consultant CGI as a Manufacturing Execution System (MES) engineer. “I am actually a software developer in manufacturing, so I develop and manage the backend application used in automating factories.”

Learning a New Programming Language​