Progress 8.3b workgroup on Win 10?

patrickwilson82

Hello there. I'm new to the World of Progress. My company has an extremely old system that is using Progress 8.3B. I was hoping to install this on a Windows 10 64-bit client and was wondering if this was possible. We were previously able to run it in XP-mode in Windows 7, but that is not an option with 10. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks.

andre42

@patrick: I suppose it is not your decision to make to migrate to a new Progress version?
If it absolutely necessary I would just install the application in a VM (XP-mode in Windows 7 nothing else but a VM). If it worked in XP-mode then you could run XP in the VM, Windows 2000 might be more compatible and use less resources.
I'd hope that your application is only needed on one machine, if you run an older Progress version on an older OS as a server you will definitely have security vulnerabilities.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
If you have the source code then upgrading to a current release is technically trivial and the benefits from a performance, reliability, security and support standpoint are enormous.

The actual barriers to upgrading usually have to do with money.

patrickwilson82

@patrick: I suppose it is not your decision to make to migrate to a new Progress version?
If it absolutely necessary I would just install the application in a VM (XP-mode in Windows 7 nothing else but a VM). If it worked in XP-mode then you could run XP in the VM, Windows 2000 might be more compatible and use less resources.
I'd hope that your application is only needed on one machine, if you run an older Progress version on an older OS as a server you will definitely have security vulnerabilities.