Question Procedure or Class?

andre42

Obviously classes and methods are more modern than procedures and functions. Even if you don't use inheritance and class hierarchies and simply use singleton classes as libraries methods allow you to let the compiler check the parameters (works for functions, but not for procedures) but still throw errors at run-time (functions can't return errors).
There are some performance issues with calling methods and object instantiation, though. Hopefully Progress will continue to work on this.

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
This is the wrong question. You can write a Class and use exactly the same design strategy as you would with a Procedure. The question you should be asking is whether you use Procedural or Object Oriented design. Object Oriented is designed for creating reusable code, but there are costs, one of which andre has already mentioned.
I'm very new to the OOABL world myself, but I wouldn't go back. There are things we do in our application which it would be very hard to reproduce procedurally.

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
which is better and why?
I've seen misuse of "old" coding techniques (e.g. "nested-include hell", turning .p files into internal procedures, etc.; list is nearly endless) and "new" ones (e.g. multiple layers of abstraction for no good reason).

In general terms, I think the person wielding the tool is at least as important as the tool itself; specifically, their experience, skill, discipline, attention to detail, knowledge of good patterns and practices, and concern for writing good maintainable code.