Question "OUTPUT TO" -> path of location where the file needs to be saved is on a different server

VincentS

Hi guys,

I've been working with the query below and it worked fine since both the database and the location where the file needed to be saved were on the same server:

OUTPUT TO /export/filename.txt.
PUT UNFORMATTED
"Columnname" CHR(9).
PUT SKIP.
FOR EACH tablename NO-LOCK :
PUT UNFORMATTED
Value CHR(9).
PUT SKIP.
END.

Recently, our servers have been upgraded and the file should be saved on a different location (different server than the one the database is on). If I understood correctly, the database is on a Linux server while the file should be saved an a Windows server. I would suspect that I need to add "login" details somewhere in the "OUTPUT TO" line, but I couldn't find the correct syntax in my numerous searches online. (I am a complete noob in Progress, have same basic knowledge of databases, mainly MySQL - self taught). I do not have direct access to the database I'm querying above and I cannot see "error" statements. This code is put into a .p file and is picked up by our ERP system. That makes it very hard for a noob like me to see exactly where the problem is situated. (I have also reached out to our ERP supplier, but chances are they will only reply somewhere next year or so... and I'd like to get this moving asap :))

If anyone could help me on this, it would be extremely appreciated!

Kind regards,

Vincent

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Unless you have mounted the external drive on the Linux machine then you won't be able to write to it in a stream like that. And a word of warning - streaming to a network location can be slow. You may be better streaming to a local folder and then using an OS-COMMAND to copy the file to the final destination once it's done.

VincentS