OE to database

JustMe

I am new to progress and the progress database. We do not seem to have security turned on in the database yet (one of my many new tasks) but the OE when connected will not let me do queries against the databases. I created the connection and can see the database, tables, indexes etc …

BUT when I look at the columns in the “DB Details” under Preview, preview is blank and I have the error:
[DataDirect][OpenEdge JDBC Driver][OpenEdge]Access denied(Authorization failed) (7512)

As far as I can tell there are not any userIDs or passwords for the database. (Unless there is a default one) I tried progress as the ID with no password for the connection but it didn’t help.

I also get an error when running a query in the SQL Editor tab, it is:
[DataDirect][OpenEdge JDBC Driver][OpenEdge] Table/View/Synonym not found (7519)

the editor will do the intellisense (Autocomplete) for the tables and fields.

The version is 10.2b 05
I am running eclipse on windows XP servicepack 3
The database is running on SLES11 linux

The databases can be accessed through progress programs.

Thank you in advance for any and all help.

JustMe (Rich)

RealHeavyDude

The OpenEdge database is no SQL database in the first place. It has a SQL engine that you need to configure because it is not working as you might expect it out-of-the-box.