Resolved .net Openclient

Aivaras

Hello,

I've been trying to build a .Net OpenClient to connect to Progress Pacific server using a Proxy. It's working fine, but it seems like it wouldn't be efficient when deployed, since i have to regenerate and reinstal .Net assemblies for all the clients on every server-side change. Is there any way to automatise this process or use a different aproach altogether?

I'm running OpenEdge 11.5 and Visual Studio 2015 on a Windows 10 64bit machine.

Thanks.

Last edited:

TheMadDBA

Use the Open API instead of Proxygen... in my opinion it is much easier for deployments and changes. At first it makes the creation a little harder but you can create your own connection class to handle most of the common functions.

OpenEdge 11.5 Documentation

RealHeavyDude

I have no experience with the .NET open client - but I have lots of experience with the Java open client. Basically with the Java open client I use both: One one hand I have built a generic data access layer in Java. On the other hand there is always a need for additional functionaly not part of the core that we access dynamically.

The generic data access layer is based on ProDataSets ( Progress ABL ) which end up being JavaSDOs ( service data objects ) in the Java world. Our data access layer converts the JavaSDO into collections of Java beans used by the Java client.

In Java it isn't either/or it is and.

Heavy Regards, RealHeavyDude.

TheMadDBA

Interesting.... when you say the functionality isn't handled you mean with your core API? Or is there something missing from the Java Open Client that only proxygen does?

RealHeavyDude

There is nothing missing from the Java Open Client.