Question Maximum Database Connections

Question...

We run OpenEdge 10.2a.

It seems like when we get about 4-5 simultaneous database reads via ODBC (read uncommitted) or AppServers, our system slows way down. Is there a logical maximum amount of simultaneous reads that a Progress Database can handle before it has to start queuing jobs up? I can provide more specifics on our setup if needed. Not sure what specs are applicable.

Thanks,

Our server has 80 logical cores. 4 Processors, 10 cores per processor, hyper-threaded.
I believe it is an enterprise install. Using it to run our Epicor 9 ERP system.

I guess here is what I am trying to theorize... I'm just a beginner at Progress DBA, so please don't flog me too terribly...

It seems like if we get three or four ODBC connections (read uncommitted) or AppServers trying to connect at once, all of the other normal traffic starts to queue up and experience lag. It feels like there is some sort of predetermined amount of database 'connectors' that a Progress database has. So, when two or three are locked up, the few that remain have a much more difficult time satisfying the otherwise normal demand.

Yesterday, we had three ODBC connections (read uncommitted) get locked up on one table in the system that is rarely ever used. Yet, it created such a delay in other users reading other tables that we had to take the database down to clear out the stuck ODBCs.

I'm just trying to understand why it is so fragile on an 80 core box. Anything you could offer up with your real knowledge of Progress would be fantastic and much appreciated.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Any database is going to have throughput limits and bottlenecks.

Determining where the bottleneck is takes data and experience.