Question How can I control usage of fieldlist <FIELDS>

Venkateswarlu N

We started following a new coding standard to improve performance (version 10.2B).

That is to use FIELDS to only retrieve only the necessary fields, this has very good results. But I am worried of run time errors when using fields that aren't in the list (compiler doesn't warn of these).

I tried to do something on ProLint but didn't get anywhere as I am new to it.

Any help and updates please:)

Thanks,
Venky

It gives a Compiler error in the 11.3. I have worked on 10.2b around 5 years ago, I do not remember this happening. Are you working with temp-tables?

TheMadDBA

As far as I know there are no compiler messages for missing fields list columns. Including 11.3.1.

Code:
FOR FIRST customer FIELDS(cust-num NAME) NO-LOCK:
    DISP customer.country.
    DISP customer WITH 1 COL NO-BOX.
END.

This returns runtime errors with no compiler issues for 10.2B and 11.3.

The best you can do is to test thoroughly before releasing code and try and write some code to parse a listing and XREF to try and match the two up.

1) Compile your code with the preprocess option (to flatten out the line numbers and merge includes/etc).
2) Compile the preprocess output with XREF to get the list of columns
3) Write some code to parse the preprocess and XREF and try and match up the columns based on line number ranges.

TheMadDBA

There is a difference between an invalid field name (which will throw a compiler error like above) and a missing field from the fields list expression. The fields list is used to limit network traffic by only pulling certain fields back from the database. The default is to pull the entire table back.

Venkateswarlu N

Thanks @TheMadDBA

This is what I was trying to do using a ProLint rule.

Could you please help me learn more about your steps

1) Compile your code with the preprocess option (to flatten out the line numbers and merge includes/etc).