data load

ADBA

I'm new to progress, so please forgive me if my question is unclear?

We're loading three txt files into progress database and with the validation piece it takes 4-5 hours to delete the data and about 30 hours to insert. We have three files: one of them is really big - 6 mln records. I assume that program loads data record by record using progress .p program. Is there any progress util that can perform import/export faster. Thx

I may not be correct in all the terms

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
There are lots of ways to speed this sort of thing up. Offhand:

1) Break it into chunks and load multiple threads simultaneously.

2) Within a thread process more than 1 record per transaction. 100 is generally accepted as a good number.

3) Disable indexes and do an index rebuild after the load.

4) If you're feeling brave (and have the capability to restore from backup quickly and easily) run the process with no-integrity.

5) Leverage database features such as block size storage areas, rows per block, blocks per cluster, bi cluster size and so forth.

6) Tune your database.

7) Make sure that your hardware is being used effectively.

8) If the delete phase involves deleting the whole table consider using "truncate area" to quickly accomplish that task.

We used to load different consignment files up every evening, from various sources, convert them into a single format and write them to a consignment table.

We found it was taking forever to load large files, so we did some of what was mentioned above.

We loaded the data into an empty database (with table structure, no records), which we cleared every evening by deleting the database and copying a master database on top of it.

On the load, we ran the database as single use (-1), no integrity (-i) option, on a local hard disk. It didn't matter if the database was trashed, we could simply copy the master database over it and try again.