Ascii Extract

Cliff Skinner

I am a newbie with the Progress DB's..

I would really appreciate any help or direction on how I can extract a Progress DB to ASCII, below is a little background on what I would like and what I am working with.
  • I can extract the data as Binary (maybe I am missing how this is done as ASCII)
  • Progress DB Version 9.1e
  • Extract data into a simple text, just as the natural Progress data text is exported
  • Its a one time event
  • Extract all tables that has data
  • DB size is 300 MB's
  • Current Licenses is not a developers I feel its only run time type licenses
  • Service Shop its an Automotive garage type of software that stores the data in this Progress DB
  • OS is Windows 7

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Glad you managed to work out how to post, Cliff.

The tool you're looking for is Data Administration. You should have a link to it in Tools. From there you can dump your table contents to .d via an ASCII dump.

I'm guessing from the one time nature that you're wanting to migrate it away from Progress?

Cliff Skinner

Hi Cringer, thank you very much. Yes I was able to get it posted with your help. Thank you very much. So this Data Admin is available even if you do not have the Progress Developers License?

Cringer

Staff member
Yes you should still be able to dump the data. You may have to start the session with the -rx parameter though. Give it a try. I could be wrong. It's been a long time.

How sensitive is the data? With it being only a small database someone may be willing to assist. I would offer, but I'm moving house so don't have time!

Cliff Skinner

We are seeing that the Tool link is grayed out.. Is there any help still or can we convert the data from Binary to Ascii?

Cliff Skinner

The file is not sensitive at all and is only about 300MBs.. I can try the -rx parameter.. If that does not work maybe someone here at PT can help me

Cliff Skinner