Progress Syntax

legacysupp

Hi

I am new to Progress sql and I am having trouble trying to execute a query.

I have 3 tables
A (gtest) - id, newdate
B (contrelations) - con-reference, rel-record
C (contacts) - con-reference, con-created-date

I want to take each record in A and find the corresponding record in C (via B) if one exists and update C's data with the newdate from A

The query I have written is as follows:

update pub.contacts
set "con-created-date" = (select newdate from pub.gtest inner join pub.contrelations on pub.contrelations."rel-record"
= pub.gtest.id where pub.contrelations."con-reference" = pub.contacts."con-reference")

and the error is
=== SQL Exception 1 ===
SQLState=42000
ErrorCode=-20003
[JDBC Progress Driver]:Syntax error (7587)

Can anyone help please!

Adrienne

noddy17

hi iam new here i was just wondering if anyone had any source code for sql stored procedures it would be a great help if you did thanks

noddy17

hi i think you might have to create a realtionship between your three tables and this might work i am not to sure

klar

Can't do a correlated update

I have a similar but simpler update I'm trying to do. The idea is to update a field in table A with the value in table B, where the two tables can be joined on a common field. Here is a sample from among many variations on the theme.
update pub.citationmaster A
set (a.cstatus) = (SELECT COALESCE(B.statuscode, A.cstatus) FROM pub.mtistatus B

where B.ticketno = A.ccitationno)

This gives
=== SQL Exception 1 ===

SQLState=42000

ErrorCode=-20003

[JDBC Progress Driver]:Syntax error (7587)

I've been told by Progress Support that this is a bug in the SQL-92 interpreter, and that they will invenstigate, and either publish a fix or change the documentation (which suggests that this kind up update should work). This is a very common SQL statement structure and works in other databases (e.g. MS SQL Server).