Primary recovery area and after image area

apunhiran

Hi,
I am new to Progress, I am basically an Oracle DBA and given the task to learn and support Progress.
I have a small doubts for all you PROGRESS Gurus

I am confused between "Primary Recovery Area" and "After Image area" in Progress. Could you tell me the comparative things in Oracle.

Are there any other site which have PROGRESS documentations, except for www.progress.com.

Thanks
Regards
Apun Hiran

cecsno

apunhiran said:
Hi,
I am new to Progress, I am basically an Oracle DBA and given the task to learn and support Progress.
I have a small doubts for all you PROGRESS Gurus

I am confused between "Primary Recovery Area" and "After Image area" in Progress. Could you tell me the comparative things in Oracle.

Are there any other site which have PROGRESS documentations, except for www.progress.com.

Thanks
Regards
Apun Hiran
The Primary Recovery Area aka Before Image or BI is for crash recovery to back out any active, incomplete transactions at the time of the crash, this is similar to the Oracle Rollback segment.

The after image area is for roll forward recovery in the event of a hardware failure when database components are lost or when user data errors are introduced to the system, this like the redo log.

Web Sites?

www.progresstalk.com
www.peg.com
www.fast4gl.com
www.dotr.com
www.globalshared.com
www.amduus.com

and others.

apunhiran

PROGRESS Architecture - doubts.

Hi,

Thanks a lot for the explanation, that almost completes my understanding of the PROGRESS database architecture.
Small clarifications just to know if I have understood things right.

1. Structure file - database definition file - init.ora in oracle
2. .lg file - tracks database events and errors - alert_DBNAME.log in oracle
3. Database control area - data dictionary of the database - data dictionary in oracle(system tablespace).