Question Performance issue

Manmohan

We have an old application to maintain customer data. The user data has increased 6 folds in last one year. I am new to this organization and looking into the whole setup (DB's, Webspeed, NS, etc.) I have seen tables being added in Schema Area (which i have heard is a big NO NO), some tables have Scatter Factor ranging from 2 to 6.5.

The problem we are facing is a periodic application latency where the broker agents, explicit for a specific application module, become busy. Sometimes 30% agents are in available state but still we see the latency in the application, but the following events still happen at the time of issue:

> The no of processes for that module also constitutes about 50% of the total process count on the box.
> CPU usage by the module, at time of issue, is about >25% and load average becomes around 13.

I havent run DBANALYS yet so cant comment on the index usage but me and many other suspect bad programming but even looking at broker logs, server logs, adminserv log and DB log, i am not able to identify the exact code/programs which causes the issue.

Please provide any comments, ideas, knowledge on how to pinpoint the exact reason of the issue and what else i can check from DB/webspeed etc. point of view.

Regards.

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
To start helping, we need some more information about your application and environment.
  • What is your Progress version? (cat $DLC/version)
  • What is your operating system?
  • Is there a single application database, or several?
  • Is WebSpeed installed on the database server or on a separate box?
  • If on the database server, do the WS agents connect to the DB via TCP or shared memory?
  • What are the database startup parameters?
  • Please post the contents of your database structure file. First make sure it is up to date with prostrct list <dbname>.