OpenEdge Management - Appserver environment variable defaults

DownUnder

Hi all,

I'm a newbie on this site. This is my first post ... :)

I was hoping someone might be able to shed some light on something I've been wondering about, or whether I need to log an issue with Progress.

I'm currently running OpenEdge Management and Explorer Standard Edition Version 10.2A0000 and have found that when I create an AppServer, it automatically places the name of the AppServer in the Environment Variables folder/tab.

This, on the surface of it, looks to be a good thing, as it implies a mechanism whereby my application might be able to determine the name of the AppServer a process is running on (if running remotely).

However, unfortunately it just contains the name, not an actual environment variable setting (e.g. it will just have 'asbroker1' instead of something like 'appservername=asbroker1'). The default as it current exists is invalid, and cannot be queried from the 4GL using OS-GETENV().

Does anybody happen to know what variable-name it should be set to, if the automatic mechanism that appears to be (almost) present was working correctly?

My short-term solution is to get anyone from my company who might be setting one of these up to insert a prefix of 'ASname=' in front of whatever the appserver name is (e.g. 'ASname=devSystem' when it defaults to 'devSystem' for an AppServer of the same name).

The reason I ask is I need to know the name so that I can have 2 AppServers per system (1 broker and 1 agent, for SonicMQ messaging and Job Processing / batch) etc. for each kind of system supported (e.g. development, testing, production or possibly by client-name for multi-client ASP servers), whereby the broker knows which agent to call. I want to use this mechanism, and need a variable name to use (currently 'ASname' as a guess).

If anybody has any comments, suggestions, information, insights or solutions related to this issue it would be much appreciated.

Cheers.