No suitable driver found for jdbc:jdbcprogress:T (set class path)

mindus

Hi
i am new to this progress database. I am developing the application which is used to get the data from progress database. My progress database is in remote system. When i execute my application i am getting following error.

: unable to get connection java.sql.SQLException No suitable driver found for jdbc:jdbcprogress:T:netpcsystem:3501:testdata.

I googled it and come to know to set the class path in the system.

Can any one of you guys please tell me in which system i need to define the class paths. My progress database is in remote system and i am developing application in my system. So i need to access the data from remote progress database. So i have to set classpath in remote database system or in my system?

Thanks
mindus

RealHeavyDude

You need to add the following external JARs to your Java project:

%DLC%\java\util.jar
%DLC%\java\base.jar
%DLC%\java\pool.jar
%DLC%\java\spy.jar

Where %DLC% is your OpenEdge installation directory. The drivers need to be available on the same machine where the Java client runs.

Heavy Regards, RealHeavyDude.

doubtswith4GL

Hi,

I also want to connect to a remote progress database within my local network (for now). Precisely I want to use Eclipse-Birt to make reports, but I'm having trouble connecting with the databse using:

i) the jars included in Progress (jdbc:jdbcProgress),
ii) with an external JDBC-91D driver installed from (OpenLink) and,
iii) with an Openlink JDBC-ODBC bridge and ODBC-91DJDBC Driver.

As I had many problems, so far. And after browsing this forum extensively, I would like to have a confirmation to the following question:

Do I need to have a local installation of Progress 91D in order to connect to a remote Progress database in the server? If this is true, which is the client required to perform this action? Where does this client could be obtained?

Escenario: