Issue with Converting Progress 9.1E to OpenEdge 10.2

Good morning,

I am still a newbie dealing with Progress so I might have missed some things on the installation/conversion.

I installed OpenEdge 10.2 on a new server. Progress 9.1E sits on another server. I truncated 9.1E on the 9.1E server and copied the truncated file to the OpenEdge 10.2 server.

I tried to run the conversion using

proutil <path to dbname> -C conv910 on the OpenEdge 10.2 server and got the error below

CONVERT MAY NOT RUN FROM DLC PATH.

Please assist.

Regards,
Renee

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
The best thing to do AFAIK is to start proenv from the Start menu, that gets all your system variables set. Then navigate in there to the path of the db and "proutil dbname -C conv910". That should do it. In the proenv screen if you type prompt you will see where you're currently located.

Hi Cringer,

I was able to get pass the initial error by running the command from proenv. However I encountered another error:

"Unable to open or create <dbname>.d1 error 2. Conversion failed in drReadMasterblk9, ret= -1"

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
I'm afraid I'll have to let you wait on this for someone more experienced of this kind of thing. I'm sure someone will be along shortly.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Are these servers both running the same operating system? Or are you trying to change platforms?

How did you go about copying the database from one system to the other? Did you maybe use FTP and forgot to specify "binary" mode?

Hi TomBascom

9.1E Progress runs on Windows Server 2003 SP1 and OpenEdge 10 runs on Windows Server 2003 x64 SP2.

The database is used with an application called LOANS. So I just truncated the bi file and then copied them to a folder created on the OpenEdge server (in LOANS application).

The documentation that I read just specified the steps for migrating i.e truncate bi file then convert.

Are there any steps that I missed out?

LarryD