for each nested each

GirlNet

Please bare with me as I'm really new to Progress and I'm trying to make headway.

What's wrong with this statement? It just hangs . . . Am I trying to complicate things again? :rolleyes:

for each ck_mstr no-lock,
each ap_mstr no-lock where ap_mstr.ap_ref = ck_mstr.ck_ref
and ap_effdate >=st-dt and ap_effdate <=end-dt,
each ad_mstr no-lock where ad_mstr.ad_name = ap_mstr.ap_vend:
if available ad_mstr then name = ad_name.
if available ck_mstr then chknbr = ck_nbr.
end.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Please bare with me as I'm really new to Progress and I'm trying to make headway.

What's wrong with this statement? It just hangs . . . Am I trying to complicate things again? :rolleyes:

How many records are in these tables?

How long do you let it hang for?

Do monitoring tools (PROMON, ProTop and so forth) show that there is lots of activity going on?

You could put a message inside the body of the loop and get a feel for how quickly records are being processed.

Code:
        each ap_mstr no-lock where ap_mstr.ap_ref = ck_mstr.ck_ref
            and ap_effdate >=st-dt and ap_effdate <=end-dt,
        each ad_mstr no-lock where ad_mstr.ad_name = ap_mstr.ap_vend:

message ck_mstr.ck_ref ap_mstr.ap_vend ad_mstr.something.

end.

GirlNet

Thank you so much TomBascom for taking the time to answer. I found the issue (I think). It should be:

each ap_mstr no-lock where ap_ref = ck_ref
and ap_type = "CK" <-------------------here
and
ap_effdate >= st-dt and ap_effdate <=end-dt,
each ad_mstr where ad_addr = ap_vend
break by ck_nbr:
end.

It seems adding the filter helped - but I still don't have a clue why it hung for so long. I let it run for a few minutes.

But . . . I was going to ask what kind of tools for available for monitoring these types of issues - which you already answered. I used promon before but not protop. I'll have to research it.

Thanks again.

Thanks much!

enoon