Failure to acquire exclusive schema lock for DDL.

lochdsmile

Hi All,

I am new to Progress SQL9.2. I am doing my project that using OpenEdge as a database. My application using JDBC to connect to database and excuting sql statement such as SELECT, DELETE, INSERT, CREATE TRIGGER, DROP TRIGER, CREATE TABLE, DROP TABLE statement (both of DDL and DML).

It is OK when I create table, trigger via JDBC but i get a errors when I DROP TABLE or TRIGER (using JDBC).

Here is the error:

[DataDirect][OpenEdge JDBC Driver][OpenEdge] Failure to
acquire exclusive schema lock for DDL.

Anyone, Please help me to fix it.

Many thanks,

Rokku,

Casper

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Hi,

Maybe a stupid question, but are you absolutely sure no other users are in the database at the moment you try to drop table. I can imagine that a drop table can't be done bacuse someone has on ongoing transaction.

Regards,

Casper.

lochdsmile

:blush:

1. The first, I am sure that there are no users is accessing the table that I want to drop when dropping because I create this table for private purpose and drop it when I don't need it anymore. I only say that before removing this table, maybe there are some selection on the table but at the time that I drop it, I am sure there are no accessing on it.

2. The second, I also notice you that my application using 3 kind of databases: Oracle 10g, SQL Server 2000 and Progress. But I run well on Oracle and SQL Server. I mean that I didn't get the error when I drop the table on Oracle and SQL Server (also using JDBC). It is OK with Oracle & SQL Server.

3. Therefore I guest that maybe Progress DBA need to setup some parameters for the database.

[SIZE=-1]Does anyone have any idea for it?

Regards,

Rokku.
[/SIZE]

Casper

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Hi there,