automating shutdown and startup of queues, db's, systems, etc. ?

egiblock

Syteline 5.02.10
Progress 9.1b27

two parts of this question.

PART 1:
-------

we have background queues that run nigthly to process reports for employees, and do other misc processes.

it has just been brought to our attention that some of the errors we are seeing in the database connections are known issues, and the only soution right now is to cycle the power on the server every once in a while (like once a week).

as far as the administration side of things, i am very new to the syteline program.

currently, i do the following to shutdown / startup the nightly processing queues.

To stop:
login to the syteline admin tool
click system -> background queue setup
select the queue -> edit -> update -> uncheck the running box
hit F2 to save.

exit, do a bunch of work, restart, etc....

to start:
Login to the Syteline 5 Admin Tool
Select Admin -> Background Process Maint -> Reports and Utilities -> nightly.pf -> click OK

is there a way to automate this from a command line so i can run this automatically stop it and start it, and not have to worry about it ???

------------------------------------------------

PART 2:
-------

in between the top part of this problem (starting and stopping), i'd like to shutdown the progress databases, brokers, etc. and restart the machine. when the machine comes back up, ovbiously i'd like to start all of the services, brokers, databases, etc...

can this all be done from a command line as well ?

thanks !

darrenk

Hi there...

Here is how you can start and stop the Progress db's that are being run by Procontrol. Create the following .bat file and place it on your server. You can then apply it as a service - which will automate the start and stopping of Procontrol...Which will auto start and stop your Syteline db's!

@ECHO OFF
set path=d:\syteline.map\dlc;d:\syteline.map\dlc\bin;%PATH%
pccmd proservice start

Save the above file as xxxstart.bat

@ECHO OFF