[Progress News] [Progress OpenEdge ABL] Meet Sam Basu, Senior Developer Advocate at Progress

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Paulette Stout

Progress people bring diverse experiences to the table and make Progress a special place to work. In this post, meet Sam Basu, a senior developer advocate at Progress.

Growing up, Sam wanted to be a cricketer—or a pilot; but his love of technology won the day. That, and a passion for fast cars. Let’s learn why Sam loves working at Progress.

How did you start your career in technology?​

From a young age growing up in India, I was passionate about computers and gaming, always wanting to understand how it all worked. I wondered, “How do I actually make things move?” I naturally gravitated towards a degree in Computer Science. Throughout pursuing my Masters in the US, and my 15-year career in technology, this is all I ever wanted to do for a living.

Join our team at Progress

So how did you find your way to Progress?​

I used to be a software consultant, working with variety of clients across many industry verticals. I started using Telerik products and invested a lot of time to learn the underlying technologies. When things fell short or did not work, I absolutely made my feelings known. Because I knew a few employees, eventually someone said, “Stop complaining and come fix it with us.” It was an exciting opportunity, so I jumped onboard.

What did you do after joining?​

I joined as a trainer and started teaching customers about Kendo UI and Telerik technologies. I would go in-person to an enterprise for a whole week, spending eight hours a day with their developers trying to get them to be as productive as possible with our products. It’s energizing to be with passionate people who want to learn more.

You’re very public now. How did that pivot happen?​