[Progress News] [Progress OpenEdge ABL] In Celebration of Ada Lovelace Day

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sara Faatz

Ada Lovelace Day is celebrated on the second Tuesday of October every year, honoring the achievements of women in STEM. In memory of Ada Lovelace, we sat down with some of the women at Progress to talk about their inspirations and accomplishments.

At Progress, we like to celebrate all of our employees, but in honor of Ada Lovelace Day (October 8) we wanted to put the spotlight on some of the brilliant women who help build the products we are known for.

To that end, we sat down with some of the women at Progress to learn what led them to a career in technology, what career accomplishments they are most proud of, what inspires them and more.

Progress: Thank you all for taking the time to speak with us today.

Let's start with each of you sharing what led you to a career in technology/computer science?

Elena:
I graduated from the High School of Mathematics “Dr Petar Beron” – Varna and really enjoyed solving math problems and participating in national competitions. My next logical step was to apply and graduate in Computer Science at Sofia University, where my passion for problem solving evolved with more challenging and interesting tasks.
LovelacePanel

Progress:
Very interesting. It’s no secret that problem solving, math and critical thinking are all incredibly valuable skills to have as a developer. Sounds like you landed right where you were meant to be. Anika Srviastava, what about you? How did you get your start in technology?