[Progress Communities] [Progress OpenEdge ABL] Forum Post: RE: SEH: the throw keyword

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Matt Baker

I had a rant...and then deleted it after I read the article, so I'll start again. I've been working with java as a simpleton since 1997. C# a bit less. Thanks for the links to how RUST handles this, is good to read how someone uses a few language constructs to enforce handling of no nulls. After years of reading garbage code and dealing with garbage exception handling in everyone's code, especially mine, I wrote a wiki with do's and don'ts here on exception handling based on what I've learned working on OEM which is all java and I make all my team members read it. I've encountered lots of really badly written exception handling code for languages that make use of try...catch...finally concepts, and a basic set of rules makes life easier. The same set of rules applies to C# code and ABL code. In contrast my experience with functional programming is extremely limited. I've read the articles on rust that was posted and I've tried to read a little bit of go. I haven't studied either of these languages. Java, javascript, and C# are my languages of choice and experience so anything I have to say about purely functional languages is worthless. Functional programming is hard. I think I can safely say most developers come from the procedural or OO background. From a learning perspective it is always good to read other code and understand the concepts and the experiments in language syntax. You can then bend the concepts to your own work. I think purely functional languages are fun...for a few minutes. Then I realize the language bends my mind so I can't figure out how to get anything done. Makes me wonder if the limited sets of libraries for some of these is directly caused by the lack of usability. I can't say that the choice of exception handling in java and C# has improved the world, but it is an easily understandable language concept