Program freeze only the morning? Help

Hi,

We use progresse 9.1d

I don't have long experience with progress and maybe I need to do something I don't know. But I have few programs (not all) who took 5 to 30 min to open. Sometime it's ok no problem but other day it's nightmare.

I look the progress server no cpu or memory problem, nothing in progress monitor. The only thing it's maybe the hard drive fragmentation.

I have some background queue but I don't realy know them. The problem are incraising since few months.

Is someone can help thank

TheMadDBA

9.1D is ancient and unsupported so your options are a little more limited than in newer versions.....

Sounds very much like a coding issue that isn't properly indexed. Especially since it keeps increasing.

Without seeing the stats from promon R&D 2 1 when these problem programs are running and knowing a lot more about your server and client set up it is hard to guess further.

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
Also, look at your maintenance activities.

Do you shut down the database every night? That could lead to slow performance in the morning due to a cold cache. You would likely have a higher rate of physical I/O in the morning than in the afternoon.

Do you truncate the BI file every day? That could cause program freezes if long-running transactions grow the BI file. Forward processing in the database is stalled while a new BI cluster is allocated, formatted, and inserted into the cluster ring.

Thing I know it's we backup every night, I don't know if this can restart the BD.
I'm not to familiar with BI, I know the system do something about it but I don't know what. I'm beginer in progress database.

Do you shut down the database every night? That could lead to slow performance in the morning due to a cold cache. You would likely have a higher rate of physical I/O in the morning than in the afternoon.