Php and openEdge 11.7

alexielle51

Hello everyone,

I would like to connect to my openedge 11.7 database with PHP from a DEBIAN web server on the same network as my Progress server.

I can't find how to connect with PHP, do I need to install an odbc driver on the debian server? If yes, how ?
Can I use another method than odbc?

I'm just getting started with OpenEdge and Progress ...

Thanking you!

Good day.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
It all depends on what you want to do and why you need to connect.

ODBC provides SQL access to all of the data. That sounds good right up until you realize that you probably have no idea what any of the relationships are and even less of an idea what the business meaning of the data is. You will also quickly learn that "Progress is not SQL".

The target application _may_ already have defined APIs available via REST or SOAP or some other mechanism (maybe even something really crude like CSV file extracts). That solves all of the problems from above but it limits your view (which might be a good thing).

Or... you might have access to 4GL developers who can create the necessary APIs.

Or... maybe you are the developer who needs to create such APIs.

But it all comes down to *why* you need to connect and what you hope to get from such a connection. Tell us more about that and we can probably provide better answers.

alexielle51

Thank you for your reply.

I would need this connection between the database and PHP to extract raw data (CSV format), in order to feed our Bussiness Intelligence software.

I do not have access to our ERP code, on the other hand I have access to the database (via odbc in excell or via SquirrelSQL), I know the tables and the interconnections between them.

I want to make a php script that will automate checkouts to my BI tools overnight.

It's a job that I had already done on another base (Oracle) but on Progress I have more trouble connecting.

Here I hope to have been clear.

Thanking you

Rob Fitzpatrick