PDF Conversion

doom1701

Anyone use anything other than the Infor PDF Converter with SX (not sure if it's an option in character, but we're exclusively GUI)? I'm sick of the Infor PDF Converter. For a "free" addon, it cost us enough to get into place (they didn't tell us until during the install that we needed to purchase a $1000 license for the PDF converter that they actually use behind the scenes). I've told anyone at Infor that will listen to me that the SX PDF Converter is a cluster!@#&

I've toyed around with how the PDF converter works and some basic code to try to do all of the conversion on our Linux DB server. Linux (heck, pretty much any OS) already has the tools for making the PDF, and so I'd be removing the need for another server, all of the communication, and possibly adding some configurability to boot. But I'm not a progress developer.

doom1701

We're now 5.5, and I believe it would be "outbound"--as in turning print to email and print to view report jobs into PDF. My understanding is that the PDF converter is basically the same (with a tweak made to the code for the 5.5 upgrade) since version 3 or 4.

comatt1

We are currently not experiencing the same issues, however, our application is nearly 50% custom, because of poor coding practices at Infor (especially with newer releases).

And I hear you with their "free add-ons". The application is free, the ability to utilize the feature will cost money and to install/maintain/support.

What are the symptoms of the errors?

Do you get any output, incorrect output, unexpected detail?

Could you provide a sample?

comatt1

We're now 5.5, and I believe it would be "outbound"--as in turning print to email and print to view report jobs into PDF. My understanding is that the PDF converter is basically the same (with a tweak made to the code for the 5.5 upgrade) since version 3 or 4.