Friday Fun

dbacdog

Progress 11.4
I"m not a developer, however i was a long time ago, we were on version 6 of Progress when i was a developer. So i feel like i still use the version 6 statements and command.

Which statements should i use for the current version of Progress we are on
Code:
  def var v-create as int no-undo.
def var v-copy as int no-undo.
def var v-copy2 as int no-undo.
def var v-create2 as int no-undo.

DISABLE TRIGGERS FOR LOAD OF carolina.oeel allow-replication.
/*DISABLE TRIGGERS FOR LOAD OF daily.oeel allow-replication.
  */

for each daily.oeel table-scan where daily.oeel.cono = 1
                           no-lock:
   pause 0.
   find carolina.oeel where daily.oeel.cono = carolina.oeel.cono and
                   daily.oeel.orderno = carolina.oeel.orderno and
                   daily.oeel.ordersuf = carolina.oeel.ordersuf and
                   daily.oeel.lineno = carolina.oeel.lineno
                   exclusive-lock no-error.
   if not available carolina.oeel then do:
      create carolina.oeel.
      buffer-copy daily.oeel to carolina.oeel.
      v-copy = v-copy + 1.
   end.

status default string(v-copy) + " " + string(v-create) +
        " " + string(v-copy2) + " " + string(v-create2).

end.
Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
You should start by using code formatting for code samples. You should also tell us something about what it is that you would like to improve. There is nothing necessarily _wrong_ with v6 statements per se.

FWIW I strongly suggest that you drop the habit of prefixing identifiers with useless gobbledygook like “v-“. That sort of “Hungarian Notation” adds no value and reduces code readability. Even Microsoft has admitted it was a dumb idea.

Stefan

FWIW I strongly suggest that you drop the habit of prefixing identifiers with useless gobbledygook like “v-“. That sort of “Hungarian Notation” adds no value and reduces code readability. Even Microsoft has admitted it was a dumb idea.