Why does a SQL query take so long to detect invalid col name

Mark2457

I'm using OpenEdge 10.2A with 64 bit ODBC driver and linked server in SQL Server 2008 R2

I run a SQL query that spans 5 tables (probabaly a few thousand rows in each and all inner joins). Query completes in 15 secs (need to improve, but it will do for now).

If I mis-spell ONE column name, it takes 2min 40secs before I get a message saying .

Anyone got any idea why?

Also, is there something I can use in Progress (total noob) to see the execution plan that was generated so I can tune the queries?

Thanks

Mark

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
You haven't indicated which service pack of 10.2A you have installed. That may be important in this case.

Help with getting help: download and install the Offline KB Application. In the Search box, type your query. For example, "SQL query plan". It will give you a list of KB articles you can open in the application or in your browser, with interesting titles like:

Hints to improve the performance of SQL queries?
What to look for in SQL-92 Query Plan for performance issue?
Inefficient optimization of inner JOINs
SQL-92 query takes a very long time to complete using OE10.2A02
...and a lot more.

The third article above shows the statement for enabling query plans:
Code:
SET PRO_SERVER LOG ON with (statement,query_plan);

As always with OE SQL performance questions, ensure you have run UPDATE STATISTICS to provide good metadata for the SQL-92 query optimizer.

Also, you would likely benefit from an upgrade. I know 10.2B included some OE SQL performance enhancements. Info from Progress Exchange Online 2010:

Session abstract: