TPE_MM_SWAPSIZE and related commands, 500MB temp file

valeron

Hi.. I need some help.
Using 9.1D
A complete newbie in progress and while processing a Crystal Report for a large set of data, i hit the 500MB temp limit, and it errors -16001 on me.

I've searched around and it seems the solutions are here.
http://progresscustomersupport-surv...3960?retURL=/apex/KnowledgeSearch&popup=false

However, I don't know how to actually implement them.
For example it says

specifying the TPE_MM_SWAPSIZE
-SQLTempDisk database startup parameter

But the problems is, I don't know where to key in this command! A complete newbie who inherited a Progress developed system from ages gone by...
I'll need some hand holding and a walkthrough for each of the steps shown in that article..

For example it says
UPDATE STATISTICS to improve performance.. (How do I do it? I tried running this command in SQL Explorer, running it for all tables and it crashed on me. Running Update Stats for a single table, it ran successfully. but it says 0 rows effected, and my problem still remains.)

As it is, from what's mentioned in that link this is my two best bet.
UPDATE STATS and the startup parameters...
Can anyone please help me out, and 'hand holding needed' unfortunately... tell me how to do the above?

Help please!!

Thanks a lot!!

RealHeavyDude

AFAIK the -SQLTempDisk is a startup parameter. You need to specify it where you start the database, either in the script where you issue the proserve command or in the conmgr.properties file (which usually is located in the properties folder beneath the installation folder) when the database is managed by the Admin Server.

Still you need to be aware the Progress 9.1d is stone age software, more than 10 years old and from what I know not so stable when it comes to the SQL engine.

Heavy Regards, RealHeavyDude.

valeron