Total Noob to Progress - Need help with tools

Mark2457

Hi Guys

We just acquired a company who has a manufacturing system that runs on Progress (OpenEdge 10.2B) -- that's what their OBDC driver says. I have no experience at all with Progress of 4GL (nor does their IT guy) and have been tasked with integrating their accounts system with Microsoft Dynamics (GP).

We have done this at other sites, by using a trigger on the GLBatch table that grabs all new posted batches and stores just the BatchID in a SQL table of records to process. We then use various tools to process each of the batches (get AP or AR invoices, line items, GL distributions, etc.) and finally mark the BatchID in our SQL table as processed (so we never need to write anything back to the source DB's tables). As we have no documentation about the database (it's a 3rd party vendor product), we have to reverse engineer most of it. On SQL Server based products it's easy, as we can run Query Profiler, post a batch and see the SQL being executed.

So I have two choices on how to proceed:

1. Just use the ODBC driver and poll the GLBatch table periodically to find new batches
  2. Create a trigger in Progress that will write a record to a SQL table
I need to decide which to do, but No 2 requires singificantly more knowledge of Progress (no aversion to that). So Noob questions:

1. Is there an intro to 4GL. Any good resources?
  2. What tools can I use to query the database, create triggers?
  3. Is there an equivalent to SQL Query Profiler (shows all running database commands)?
  4. Is 4GL actually SQL (i.e. is it just Progress's name for SQL like Micro$ofts Transact-SQL)?
  5. If it's not SQL, how similar is it to SQL, or is there an option to use SQL (other than via ODBC)?
Sorry for the real naive questions, but I'm literally starting for zero.

TIA

Mark

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member