Scatter Factor - Should I be afraid - VERY afraid...

taberj

Hello all.

I'm a consultant that knows very little about progress. Infact - What I know I've learned from Google - I Google - there for I am....I am in a bad place.... ;-)

I have a medical customer which paid alot of money for an application (record system) that runs on Progress.

The vendor that supports it tells me how great Progress and cannot find anything wrong with our system.

I have no doubt (Based on all the positive info I've turned up in Google :) that Progress is a Great Database...

However - this SAME vendor setup our environment. Purchased the Physical Hardware long before I came on the scene.

They purchased an IBM server - with 6 drives. These 6 drives were used to create 3 mirrors. One for the OS and Progress. (Cdrive). One for the Progress backup and logs (D-Drive) and one for what appears to be only the images for their application - no Intergy DB.

That being said - 3 mirrors supporting Intergy (one of which the database sits on C:\Intergy\DB\Medman.db)

This - atleast to me - is wrong on SOOOO many levels - having two "spindles" mirrored together with the production database AND the operating system....

The Database is 20GB.

I've tried to attach the output of the following command:
C:\Intergy\DB>proutil medman -C tabanalys

But it failed.

Background information:

I'm dealing with a HUGE disk (filesystem) fragmentation issue. I'm trying to get it done pass after pass with the DB offline.

I can't do a dump/load myself because I don't have the expertise - and really the vendor should be doing that for all they pay them....

I'll take care of the filesystem fragmentation.

The tabanalys mentioned above shows what "google has taught me" to be pretty good for this database. However - the Scatter factor is what makes me nervous...I've got scatter greater than 4 and even 7 (Yes SEVEN) on some tables....

Is this ok....

Can someone please give me their professional opinion....