progress rdbms career question

xzhang9

HI All,
I am new to the forum and I am not sure I should post this.

I was an oracle dba and hpunix admin for 4 years, I also had some mssql and vb experimence. I am thinking to accept a job offer to be a "progress rdbms application admin", the system is IBM Unix OS.

Could you let me know the pros and cons of going to another slight different direction regarding to career development.

It is a very important decision and I value your opinons a lot, please also be aware I am based in USA.

Since I am new to progress rdbms field, what would be the salary range of a progress rdbms application administrator?

Sincerely,

Jane

Hi Jane,

This kind of question crops up quite regularly around these parts.

See this thread for some viewpoints, though be warned it gets a bit heated towards the end:

http://www.progresstalk.com/showthread.php?t=91281

My own view is that if you have Oracle experience, stick with it - the pay will be better, and you won't be starting on the bottom rung.

Of course, different skills are always good to have, but you have to be aware that Progress is a niche product, and that position isn't likely to change very soon.

I imagine you will find Progress quick to learn compared to Oracle as it's a much smaller system, and quite easy to install and deploy.

If you do take the Progress job, keep up to date with your Oracle skills, so you have something else to fall back on.

HTH

Lee

Lee Curzon said:
Of course, different skills are always good to have, but you have to be aware that Progress is a niche product, and that position isn't likely to change very soon.

Don't get the impression taking a job in Progress is a completely negative move - there is a lot of data and code out there that is running on Progress, and there will be work available for number of years supporting them, enhancing them or converting them (which you will be in an ideal position to do with Progress, Oracle and MSSQL experience).