Probably Will Be Around The Forums For Help More Often

JoseKreif

I'm just gonna use this as a introduction thread.

I am a 23 yr old male. I graduated with an Associates Degree for programming and ended up getting a career immediately following.

This is kind of a long and sad story. So you can just skip to TL-DR

I recently started a new job as a Progress programmer. The language scared me a bit and do to the lack of readily available information, I always thought I was in a dead end, the wrong job.

That was until I met my coworker who was twice my age and has been working in Progress as a career his whole life. He was amazingly skilled in it. He ended up mentoring me in the language and helped me complete projects showing me the best and efficient ways to use the language. He showed me the value of indexes and how they can determine the how long a program takes to run. I took the lesson to to heart, to point where while maintaining an old program, I noticed the index was wrong and changed it. The program went from taking 20 minutes to create a report, to just about 3 seconds.

I always had him available the instant I ran into something I didn't understand in Progress, or needed his insight on completing a specific goal. I've begun to love progress more than the other languages. I no longer have that feeling inside me that I had when I first was hired.

He was a mentor to me. Aside from progress, he would show me some scripts he wrote with shell to automate a lot of tedious tasks on our Linux server. We became good friends and began to socialize outside of work, such as fishing or gaming, or even just chitchat every now and then. He really loved programming, and enjoyed getting to share his knowledge with me. He told me in all his years with the company, he had spent more time talking to me than anyone else in the department.