No Error Not Working As Expected

Pooja

Hello,
I am a newbie to Progress 4GL. I got an ERROR on FIND statement which I feel I should not get;

Statement #1: FIND customer NO-LOCK WHERE customer.name = ENTRY(3,"Pooja") NO-ERROR.
Statement #2: FIND customer NO-LOCK WHERE ENTRY(3,customer.name) = "Pooja" NO-ERROR.

I understand statement #2 looks stupid but there are code like this in our code base where there are multiple 'AND' conditions and one among them is like 'ENTRY(15,Field_Name)'.

Question - NO-ERROR captures the error on statement #1 but doesn't capture error on statement #2. Why? I was expecting NO-ERROR to capture 'Entry outside range' error.

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
This is more than just an issue of appearances. Statement #2 doesn't just look bad, it is bad. Using a function in a WHERE clause, where the function takes a field of the record being retrieved as an argument, prevents the ABL query engine from being able to bracket on an index. It results in a table scan.

Code that uses this pattern should be changed. Developers who write such code should be reeducated.

Pooja

Agreed.

But why is NO-ERROR not suppressing this ERROR on statement #2? If at all am forced to have the statement this way by my seniors how do I suppress and catch this error?

Stefan

I've been bitten by stuff like this in the past - the ENTRY function is being evaluated on it's own - this applies to any other function too, for example:

Code:
define temp-table tt field cc as char.

create tt. tt.cc = "hello".

find tt where int( tt.cc ) > 1 no-error.

You can prevent it with the rather ugly index breaking:

Code:
FIND customer NO-LOCK
   WHERE ( IF NUM-ENTRIES( customer.name ) >= 3 THEN ENTRY( 3, customer.name ) = "Pooja" ELSE FALSE )
NO-ERROR.

Note that attempting NUM-ENTRIES( customer.name ) >= 3 AND ENTRY( 3, customer.name ) will not work since you cannot influence the order of evaluation.

But as Rob mentioned - queries like these are ghastly.

Pooja