Need help in MXP.

santoshkumar

Hi MXP Pandits,

I am NEW to MXP ( i had earlier worked on MFG/PRO) .
I would like to know the extension of the programs after compilation in MXP since so far i have not come acrross any prgs with extensionas .p as in the case of MFG/PRO.

2. the directory listing what are the standards that are followed and would like to know where will I get the MXP PDF files and entity relation diagrams as in the case of MFG/PRO.

Please answer the above querries.

Thanks in Advance.

H.Santosh Kumar.

jongpau

First of all a question: What version of MXP are you using/involved in and in what country?

Yes, you are right, in the old versions of MXP there are hardly any extensions used. However, the compiled files end with .r as per normal. The .r extension is the only one Progress knows when compiling, no matter what the extension of the source file is.

Just so you know, MXP was "born" many many years ago. Way back then it was called "Varnet". Not sure if it is true, but from what I have heared, back then every man and his dog was making changes and additions to the application, which were then grouped into a new release for the user base. Since those early days the application has changed hands a couple of times. One of the owners was Marcam who apparently renamed the application Marcam XP, which was then changed into MXP. The application is now owned by Foresight Software Inc (Atlanta) -- http://www.foresight-esp.com. Some of the things you will encounter in MXP still originate from the Varnet days and the limitations of the very very early Progress version that was used to create the original application.

By the way, in one of the latest Foresight versions of MXP you should get normal .p and .i extensions for the source code (not sure if that is the Decade version or one of the previous releases), so maybe an upgrade might be an idea?