Index hints in Progress ?

Mark123

Hi ,

I am new in Progress, and want to ask if there is a index hint in Progress, either in 4GL or SQL ? If yes, how can I use it ?

I am working with version 9.1 on Unix.

Thanks,

Mark

tamhas

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
There's USE-INDEX, but most people will tell you not to use it, but instead to use the BY clause to specify the sort order and let the engine pick the index, as it can then use multiple indexes to satisfy the query.

DevTeam

I use the "USE-INDEX" keyword all the time (9.1D), but it's true that I did not ask myself if there were a better way to do...

The fact is that it's far better to put a "USE-INDEX" (with an index corresponding to the "where" clause) than put nothing at all !

Casper

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
USE-INDEX shouldn't be used all the time. If that's the case you better add better indexes. Progress index use is very clear and there are lots of articles written about.

By using use-index you force progress to use that index even though there can be or will be in the future a better index to use.
If you use use-index only to sort then the by option is better and faster.

For instance:
In the sports 2000 database:
you want to know all customers from salesrep 'BBB' and you want to sort them by name. You can do this like you say:
Code:
for each customer where cusotmer.SalesRep = 'BBB' USE-INDEX name:
 display customer.name.
end.
in this example the xref shows:
SEARCH sports2000.Customer Name WHOLE-INDEX
So the index name is used, but as whole-index which means
that progress is going to pass every record in the customer table to see if the salesrep = 'BBB'. Since he is going to use index name the sorting will be good.

If you do:
Code:
for each customer where customer.salesrep = 'BBB' by name:
display customer.
end.
In this example the xref shows:
SEARCH sports2000.Customer SalesRep
SORT-ACCESS sports2000.Customer Name