Help with QueryPlan

Mark2457

Hi Guys

I'm a total noob and using 64 bit ODBC driver to query 10.2B SP06 (can't apply any other SP's as it's a 3rd party vendor product and that's the latest they certify) from SQL client (SSMS, RazorSQL, etc.).

Queries are really slow and I'm trying to figure out what the issue sis. Read loads of stuff about queryplan, but can't for life of me get it to work.

This is an example query:

Code:
SELECT
   Col1
FROM
   PUB.apinvtrl
WHERE
    "voucher-number" = '   30889'

SELECT SUBSTRING("_Description",1,70) FROM pub."_Sql_Qplan" WHERE "_Pnumber" = (SELECT MAX( "_Pnumber" ) FROM pub."_Sql_Qplan" WHERE "_Ptype" > 0 )

Nothing I run against _Sql_Qplan returns any rows. From what I read, it should return the query plan for the last statement using this connection.

Anyone got any idea what I'm doing wrong? Does something need to be enabled first?

Regards

mark

tamhas

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
It has been a ***long*** since I did any with query plan, but one obvious question is whether you have run UPDATE STATISTICS.

Mark2457

I tried, but get an error (caused by a memory leak according to Progress KB). Fix is in SP 8 and I can;t apply that (which really sucks)

tamhas

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
Tell your vendor that it is stupid to not let people upgrade and not letting them apply service packs is mind-numbingly stupid.

TheMadDBA

Especially with service packs.

If update statistics has not been run that could be the cause... and/or missing indexes.

Did you try this using sqlexp instead of a 3rd party tool? It isn't supposed to matter.

Mark2457

Tell your vendor that it is stupid to not let people upgrade and not letting them apply service packs is mind-numbingly stupid.