Error: could not recognize argument: localhost (301) Why?

Tiffy93

Hi all,

before I start explaining: I´m sorry for being an absolute newby.
I´m doing the beginner "Basic Open Edge Developer" because my company needs me to know how it works.
I´m totally into it but at a point during the course I cannot go further...
When I run the "simplyclient.p" on my Client as a Progress OpenEdge Application, I´m always getting fllw error browser:

** could not recognize argument: localhost (301)

and after that

Unable to execute CONNECT statement (325)

Curious is that the server connection works and the code looks fine.
I already found a thread directly at the progress community but without the specific error "localhost".

I tried to delete the test database "sports2020" via proenv and created a new one with a different port (before: 9999 as recommended during the course, after: 5000 as recommended from some guys from different communities) but it didn´t helped out.

One thing I noticed during renewing the database.
In proenv there was the line after creating the new database which I didn´t see during my course:

"This server is licensed for local logins only. (4393)"

After that the port 5000 as well as the IPV$ 127.0.0.1 with pid 14832 was shown correctly. Screenshot attached.

I would be very grateful if someone could help me out.
I´m still very excited to learn developing in Progress OpenEdge but I cannot take further steps without this function :(

Best regards
Tiffy

Attachments

• proenv.PNG
    proenv.PNG
    22.6 KB · Views: 10
  • connect.p Server.PNG
    connect.p Server.PNG
    29.3 KB · Views: 10
  • Server connection OK.PNG
    Server connection OK.PNG
    14.6 KB · Views: 10
  • SimpleClient.p Client.PNG
    SimpleClient.p Client.PNG
    42.2 KB · Views: 10

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor