Answered Doubt about function/procedure efficiency

First of all, I'd like to thanks this community, for I have solved more problems regarding to Progress then I can count with the threads available in this forum. For this you alredy have my thanks.
Also, I'm very new to both Progress programming and to progresstalk, so either if this thread is posted in the wrong place or if my doubts are senseless, just ignore it.

Now... to the doubts I have themselves...
I've been reading too many codes here in the place I work, written as ABL procedures. And sometimes I see blocks wich are written as procedures, with any number of INPUT parameters and a single OUTPUT parameter and as functions, wich are associated with a return value and any number of INPUT parameters.
That got me wondering about if there is any difference regarding to the code efficiency of using one or another. Also, if in the cases above, when there is no more then a single OUTPUT parameter for procedures, if it would be better to use functions instead.

Many many thanks,

Kind regards, Guilherme.

RealHeavyDude

If I remember correctly then some 10 years ago somebody made some performance tests of procedure versus function calls. As far as I can remember the difference was negligible. I would not chose a function over a procedure or vice versa because of performance considerations. But, frankly, I have no evidence to prove anything.