Error [DataDirect]ODBC Progress OpenEdge Wire Protocol driver]socket closed

Richard Briggs

Hi I am new to Progress!

I have a created a local 11.3 installation on my laptop.

Trying to simply connect via ODBC.
Here are my connection settings:

Host name : <my computername>
Port Number : 9090
Database : c:\progress\sports2000.db
UserID : admin
Password : admin

Warning message:
[DataDirect]ODBC Progress OpenEdge Wire Protocol driver]socket closed

I have searched the forum but couldn't see a solution ...

Thanks everyone
Richard

RealHeavyDude

Is c:\progress your installation directory?

If not, what does the database log file say?

Heavy Regards, RealHeavyDude.

Richard Briggs

Hi,
I have tried copying the database files from c:\progress\OpenEdge\ to c:\progress\ as I read a post regarding connectivity problems otherwise - but that was a red herring.
The same problem whichever db I try to connect to - including Sports.db.

There is nothing in the log .lg file.

I read a comment you made regards allowing SQL 92 queries, perhaps that is the problem, although I am struggling to find instructions on how to do this(?) - if this is the problem.

I am grateful for your help.
Richard

RealHeavyDude

There are several stepping stones and stumbling blocks for a Progress newbie - which are mostly caused by the fact that the Progress database does not provide SQL92 connectivity out-of-the-box in a way you would expect it.

This affects security ( http://knowledgebase.progress.com/articles/Article/20143 ) and the SQL92 engine itself ( http://knowledgebase.progress.com/articles/Article/P7843 ).