Can I get full info about my database

magmag

Hello!
I am completely new to Progress. We have a progress database in our organisation that I want to know everything about.

Specifications: Progress 8.3b and WebSpeed 9.0b

I realize that this is a really old version, but noone has done anything with this database since 2000. We only have one application that uses the database.

What I want to do now is get a complete view of all the tables (with fields and datatypes), relations and everything else that can be useful.
In short I have to document the database.

How do I do this?

magmag

Thanks Tom!

As I said earlier I am a complete newbie with Progress so this might be stupid questions but I hope you bare with me.

Am I supposed to write "pro dbname -p dict.p" in a windows command prompt on the server?
Are there any documentation about the Data Administration Menu available over Internet, in eg pdf?

tamhas

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
Note that dbname is the name of your specific data base.

Yes, all manuals are available on-line at PSDN ... but I don't know if they go back that far!

There are also tools for reverse engineering the data dictionary into ER and UML, if that is something that would interest you.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Since you didn't specify your platform I assumed that you were running UNIX. As all right thinking people do :cool:

Unfortunately you seem to be running Windows so "easy" is out of the question.

Presumably you've got some icons somewhere that connect to your database and start some application. Modify one of those to contain "-p dict.p" in its properties (at the end of the "target" field). If you've got the right license that should do what you need.

Yes, there are docs online. The best place to find them is probably PSDN. Of course they all refer to more modern releases than 8.3 but the basics haven't really changed all that much. You'll just find that there are neat new things that you won't be able to do until you upgrade.

magmag